Firm Profile

As a full service architecture and interior design firm based in North Bay, Evans Bertrand Hill Wheeler Architecture has successfully developed a reputation for excellent design and client service. Originally established in 1956 as Critchley Delean Architects, the firm has been involved with over 2500 projects throughout Northern and Central Ontario.

With over 50 years of continuous practice, our firm continues a proven commitment to a high degree of excellence, both through design and client satisfaction.  Our capacity to deliver the highest degrees of service is enabled by our leadership of 4 licensed architects and an experienced team of building professionals.

Our mission is to develop responsible building solutions to meet our client’s goals, needs and budget through a creative, practical and sustainable approach to architectural design.

Recent Awards

  • Northern Ontario Business of the Year (2012)
  • Ontario Woodworks Design Award for the North Bay Regional Health Centre
  • Ontario Woodworks Design Award for the Bill Barber Complex
  • Ontario Library Association Award for the Harris Learning Library
  • American Library Assoc. Interior Design Award for the Harris Learning Library
  • North Bay Chamber of Commerce Business of the Year (2011)
  • Ontario Woodworks Wood Construction Advocate Award
NOBA Award 2012.jpg

Northern Ontario Business of the Year 2012


James Evans, B.ARCH, O.A.A., MRAIC

James Evans

Brian Bertrand, B.E.D.S., B.Arch., O.A.A., MRAIC

Brian Bertrand

Ian Hill, B.E.S., B.Arch, O.A.A., MRAIC

Ian Hill

Marcus Wheeler, B.E.D.S., M.Arch, O.A.A., MRAIC

Marcus Wheeler



James Evans, B.Arch, OAA, MRAIC
Brian Bertrand, B.Arch., OAA, MRAIC
Ian Hill, B.Arch, OAA, MRAIC
Marcus Wheeler, B.EDS, M.Arch., OAA, MRAIC

Partners Emeritus
Lucien Delean, B.Arch, OAA, FRAIC
Paul Trussler, Retired OAA Member, MRAIC

Interior Designers
Jodi Allen, Bach.ID., ARIDO, NCIDQ, LEED AP

Building Technologists
Al Evans, MAATO
John Minkowskyj, C.A.T.
Jeff  Eckensviller, Dip.Arch.Tech., OAAAS, Lic.Tech.OAA
Ken Horzempa, Dip.Arch.Tech.
Wade McNeice, Env.B.Tech.

Lorraine Pepin
Marie Derosiers
Tanya Hill